years of wysiwyg*

People:
Abdullah, Alena, Alex, Alexander, Andreas, Andreas, Andreas, Anna-Lena, Bärbel, Ben, Cem, Christian, Christian, Claudia, Dennis-Bendert, Dirk, Ersin, Eva-Maria, Florent, Florian, Frank, Gabriel, Goetz, Johann-Sebastian, Juliane, Juliane, Kerstin, Lars, Maik, Mario, Markus, Marvin, Monja, Nathalia, Nicolas, Nina, Norbert, Oliver, Oliver, Pattrick, Reinhard, Ricarda, Saskia, Siegfried, Simon, Sven, Svenja, Swen, Thomas, Thomas, Ulla, Wolfgang

Alumni:
Aileen, Alexandra, Alina, Andrea, Andreas, Andreas, Angela, Arne, Arne, Barbara, Bastian, Boris, Carola, Carsten, Catrin, Cheri Ann, Christian, Christiane, Christine, Christine, Claus, Constanze, Daniel, Daniel, Daniel, Daniela, David, Dirk, Dirk, Elfi, Enrique, Eva, Fabio, Finn, Frank Oliver, Frank, Georg, Heike, Heinke, Iris, Ivan-Alexander, Jakob, Jan, Jennifer, Jennifer, Jens-Peter, Jepe, Johanna, Jörg, Jörg, Jost, Julian, Karsten, Karsten, Katharina, Klaus, Knut, Li Ba, Marcel, Mareike, Mari, Maria, Markus, Matthias, Melanie, Michael, Michael, Michael, Miriam Alexa, Miriam, Mirjana, Moritz, Moritz, Nandita, Nane, Nicole, Nicole, Nina, Nina, Olaf, Oliver, Patrizia, Peter, Peter, Philip, Ralf, Renaud, Rüdiger, Samuel, Sarah, Sebastian, Sebastian, Sebastian, Silke, Simon, Simon, Simon, Stefan, Stephan, Stephanie, Susanne, Tai Jin, Thomas, Thomas, Thomas, Timon, Tom, Ulf

Projects
"What do you specialize in?" we've heard it over and over again and often avoided to answer bluntly. The truth is: Some areas are more dear to us than others, and there we try to achieve maximum expertise and, if at all possible, some degree of virtuosity. But the topics are as varied as a full-stack development of a content management system, a multiplayer game to be played on stage, a dealer's manual, a truly large e-commerce system with worldwide customers and dozens of languages, a platform for language courses, always middleware for the supposedly standard solutions, a video platform, a portfolio, news magazines or portals, a design system or even a server infrastructure. But all this is only possible if you love digital communication and are not satisfied with half-baked solutions.

Maybe that's our speciality.

Megabytes:

The HD Floppy Disk. In the world shortly before the Internet, this was the available space if you wanted to communicate with the world. Digitally. With multimedia niceties. Thus the first digital Advent calendar was distributed this way by Microsoft Germany, the product catalogues of the following years and, for example, advertising for the then all new Sony Mavica – which (you guessed it) could store photos on floppys. Up to ten, to be precise.

One single smartphone photo from 2019 would fill two to five floppy disks. And one would be written in just 30 seconds!

16,384 times the bandwidth of 1995. Our first server was hooked up to – or rather dangled from – a double ISDN line. This meant 2x64 kilobits per second. Today it's two gigabits. Which means two billion bytes per second instead of the sad one hundred and twenty-eight thousand. But it's no longer just one server, either.

See also: 9.600

Telephone systems.

What can we say. We can‘t build all variants of digital communication ourselves, and even our third telephone system is still not the love of our lives. But at least we can (ourselves) put some software on it and configure it to death, so we can feel better about that. Or everything goes sideways and we have to reboot the damn thing. But luckily that´s our field of expertise.

Awards. Thank you so much, thank you, thank you… we thank the academy. And our clients. Because without them there wouldn't be any awards at all, even if we were the very best in everything. And we somewhat pride ourselves on the fact that we have never invented and produced a piece just for submission. This may or may not exist, but we never had the capacity to do anything like that. Or even a budget for it. All 102 awards are for real work for real clients. And we're confident it won't stop there.

Megabytes on a CD-ROM. In stark contrast to the contemporary floppy disks, infinitely large of course and therefore only ever entrusted with Herculean tasks. Huge glossy product catalogues, adventurous adventures, just tons of user interface, bizarre means of orientation and "authoring environments“ armed to the teeth. Unlike today, however, there were no frameworks or "standards" inside, and the products were unique pieces of digital handicraft. In later iterations we saw delicate beginnings of video, which however had – in obscure procedures – to be written as far as possible into the outermost tracks of the CD, so it wouldn’t drop frames. Oh, and of cause it did. Because nothing was fast enough back then.

Really, HyperCard, VideoWorks, Director, mTropolis, FutureSplash?

118 Clients: 3M Deutschland, Arvato, Athlon Car Lease , Aufbruch, BEGA, BikeRepair, Bio Planete, BRABUS, Bundesanzeiger Verlag, Cab Beer, Canyon Bicycles, Cap Gemini, CGI Group, Citizenoffice, Clear/Herold Hilft, Corilon, D’art Design Group, Danone Waters, DCIX, Dehn, Demeter Felderzeugnisse, Der Spiegel, Deutsche Telekom, Deutsche Welle, Die Produktion, DNA Involvement Marketing, Droege Group, E.ON AG, Elektror Air Systems, Ergon Bike Ergonomics, Erik Zabel, ESPRIT, Essence, everve, expert automotive, FAW, Felten Personalservice, Fleet Factory, Good Energies, Harsco, HealthAdvisory, Heartbreaker, Heinz, Henkel, Hering Schuppener, Huennebeck, IHZ, Initiativkreis Ruhrgebiet, Interamt, Inwerk, Irina Kalentieva, Jango Bikes, Jazzunique, Karstadt, Katusha, KaVo, Krombacher, Kumpan Electric, KW43, Lufthansa Cargo, Lufthansa HR, Media Broadcast, Microsoft, Miltenyi Biotech, Mind Marks, Multipower, Nanna van Blaaderen, New Media NRW, Now Company, Nuvinci Cycling, Oase Living Water, Office Kitchen Casawell, Open Grid Europe, Pay-At-Match, phorm, punQtum, RieseSchubert, RKG, Römerturm, Roto Frank, RP Online, RTI Sports, RWE AG, Sander Gourmet, Schoepfung, Schwarzkopf got2b, Schweppes, Shirts on the Fly, Siemens Electrogeräte, smart beach tour, SNI, Sony Europe, Sport Spezial, Strenesse, T-Com, T-Online, T-Systems, TDK Europe, TeamworkCity Ruhrgebiet, TGI, Thyssenkrupp AG, Thyssenkrupp Schulte, Thyssenkrupp Services, Tino Pohlmann Fotografie, Topeak, Toshiba, Total, Total Recall, Traube Tonbach, Triumph International AG, Universität Duisburg/Essen, vamos, Vattenfall, vitrapoint, Vivento AG, Vodafone, volvic, WACOM

5 Addresses. First stop: under the roof of the newly founded REMPEN & PARTNER WERBEAGENTUR in 1994: Breite Straße 13. Second stop 1996: same building, opposite side - and different address (because large building): Kasernenstraße 14. For a little more than one year in 1997 Kavalleriestrasse 16. Only temporarily, because the agency group is waiting for the Neue Zollhof in the Düsseldorf Harbour to be completed. In the first days of 1999 we are the first to move into the first floor. An industry first!. In 2003, R&P and wysiwyg* split up and we left the harbour again, if nothing else because we deemed it to be sliiiightly overpriced. We land at Stresemannstrasse 26, where we now reside on two floors after 16 years and two renovations.

Burglaries. Dear burglars: it's not worth it, unless you need new video footage of yourself. Most of our computers are heavy and big, and the laptops are taken along or chained, and you actually just break the doors. Just leave them alone in the future, will you?

Thanks a lot.

9,600 Bit/s is for internet what C60 cassettes were for music. So-so, but everyone was in. So this was the standard for Spiegel Online, which wysiwyg* had the honour to launch in 1995/96. In order to see something immediately, the screen was at least orange-red after the first kilobyte of HTML. About ten seconds later the page - 10Kb - was complete. The line by line running GiFs were actually much more exciting than all the flash stuff ten years later.

 
 
 
 
With it’s roughly ten megabytes of 2019, the "spon" homepage would have taken two hours and 50 minutes via our 1995 modem. If the connection had lasted that long. (Wouldn't have.)

1 dot-com bubble we witnessed bursting, then still at close range in the chic Gehry buildings in the Düsseldorf Harbour. That felt a bit queasy, but since wysiwyg* was not pumped up from 15 to 250 employees in just two years, there wasn’t so much to burst. But being the sole surviving "multimedia agency" in the Düsseldorf harbour in 2002 doesn't do all of your homework either, and we were still facing the splitting up, a relocation and the transformation into a pure web agency.

As a Cologne poverb goes: It always ends up well eventually. And as a Düsseldorfer would add: sometimes it’s a close shave.

mailto: xyz(a)wysiwyg.de

Unfortunately we can't use real mail addresses on our pages anymore because !@#% spambots. Please copy the address and swap the (a) for a real @.

We're sorry.

Jahre wysiwyg*

Mitarbeiter:
Abdullah, Alena, Alex, Alexander, Andreas, Andreas, Andreas, Anna-Lena, Bärbel, Ben, Cem, Christian, Christian, Claudia, Dennis-Bendert, Dirk, Ersin, Eva-Maria, Florent, Florian, Frank, Gabriel, Goetz, Johann-Sebastian, Juliane, Juliane, Kerstin, Lars, Maik, Mario, Markus, Marvin, Monja, Nathalia, Nicolas, Nina, Norbert, Oliver, Oliver, Pattrick, Reinhard, Ricarda, Saskia, Siegfried, Simon, Sven, Svenja, Swen, Thomas, Thomas, Ulla, Wolfgang

Ehemalige:
Aileen, Alexandra, Alina, Andrea, Andreas, Andreas, Angela, Arne, Arne, Barbara, Bastian, Boris, Carola, Carsten, Catrin, Cheri Ann, Christian , Christiane, Christine, Christine, Claus, Constanze, Daniel, Daniel, Daniel, Daniela, David, Dirk, Dirk, Elfi , Enrique, Eva, Fabio, Finn, Frank Oliver, Frank, Georg, Heike, Heinke, Iris, Ivan-Alexander, Jakob, Jan, Jennifer, Jennifer, Jens-Peter, Jepe, Johanna, Jörg, Jörg, Jost, Julian, Karsten, Karsten, Katharina, Klaus, Knut, Li Ba, Marcel, Mareike, Mari, Maria, Markus, Matthias, Melanie, Michael, Michael, Michael, Miriam Alexa, Miriam, Mirjana, Moritz, Moritz, Nandita, Nane, Nicole, Nicole, Nina , Nina , Olaf, Oliver , Patrizia, Peter, Peter, Philip, Ralf, Renaud, Rüdiger, Samuel, Sarah, Sebastian, Sebastian, Sebastian, Silke, Simon, Simon, Simon, Stefan, Stephan, Stephanie, Susanne, Tai Jin, Thomas, Thomas, Thomas, Timon, Tom, Ulf

Projekte
„Worauf sind Sie denn spezialisiert?“ haben wir immer wieder gehört und oft nur halb beantwortet. Die Wahrheit ist: Einige Bereiche liegen uns mehr als Andere, und in diesen versuchen wir maximale Expertise und wenn es irgend geht auch eine gewisse Virtuosität zu erreichen. Aber die Themen sind so unterschiedlich wie ein Content-Management-System als Komplettentwicklung, ein Multiplayer-Spiel für eine Eventbühne, ein Händlerhandbuch, ein wirklich sehr großes E-Commerce System mit weltweiter Kundschaft und vielen Sprachen, eine Plattform für Sprachkurse, immer wieder Middleware für die vermeintlichen Standardlösungen, eine Videoplattform, ein Portfolio, Nachrichtenmagazine oder -Portale, ein Designsystem oder auch eine Serverinfrastruktur. Das alles gelingt aber nur, wenn man digitale Kommunikation liebt und sich nicht mit halbguten Lösungen zufrieden gibt.

Vielleicht ist das ja unsere Spezialität.

Megabytes:

Die HD Floppy Disk. In der Welt kurz vor dem Internet war das der Platz, den man zur Verfügung hatte, wenn man digital mit der Welt in Form von multimedialen Nettigkeiten kommunizieren wollte. So wurde der erste digitale Adventskalender von Microsoft Deutschland verteilt, die Produktkataloge der Folgejahre und zum Beispiel Werbung für die damals ganz neue Sony Mavica (die, man ahnt es schon, auf Disketten Fotos speichern konnte. Zehn, um genau zu sein.)

Für ein einziges Smartphone-Foto von 2019 bräuchte man zwei bis fünf Disketten. Und in nur 30 Sekunden wäre eine schon vollgeschrieben!

16.384 mal schnellere Leitungen als 1995. Unser erster Server hing – oder eher: baumelte – an einer doppelten ISDN-Leitung. Das entsprach 2x64 Kilobit pro Sekunde. Heute sind es zwei Gigabit. Also zwei Milliarden Bytes pro Sekunde statt traurigen Hundertachtundzwanzigtausend. Aber es ist auch nicht mehr nur ein Server.

Siehe auch: 9.600

Telefonanlagen.

Was soll man sagen. Nicht alle Varianten der digitalen Kommunikation können wir selber bauen, und auch unsere dritte Telefonanlage ist immer noch nicht die große Liebe unseres Lebens. Aber immerhin kann man (selbst) ein bisschen Software draufspielen und ganz viel konfigurieren, und da geht es uns doch gleich viel besser. Oder alles schmiert ab und wir dürfen sie mal rebooten. Aber davon verstehen wir ja zum Glück richtig was.

102 Awards. Dankeschön, Danke, Danke… wir danken der Akademie. Und unseren Kunden. Ohne die hätten wir die Preise nämlich nicht, selbst wenn wir die Allerbesten in Allem wären. Und wir legen Wert auf die Feststellung, dass wir nie eine Arbeit nur zum Einreichen erfunden und hergestellt haben. Das mag es geben, aber wir hatten nie die Kapazitäten so etwas zu tun. Oder Budgets dafür. Alle 102 Awards sind für echte Arbeiten für echte Kunden. Und wir sind ganz zuversichtlich, dass es dabei nicht bleiben wird.

Megabyte auf einer CD-ROM. Im Gegensatz zu den noch zur selben Zeit populären Floppy Disks natürlich unendlich groß und daher auch immer nur mit Herkulesaufgaben betraut. Riesige Hochglanz-Produktkataloge, abenteuerliche Adventures, sehr viel Oberfläche, bizarre Orientierungsmethoden und entsprechend bis an die Zähne bewaffnete „Autorensysteme“. Anders als heute gab es da drin aber keinerlei Frameworks oder „Standards“, und die Produkte waren kunsthandwerkliche Unikate. In späteren Exemplaren gab es zarte Anfänge von Video, das allerdings in obskuren Verfahren möglichst in die äussersten Spuren der CD geschrieben werden musste, damit es nicht ruckelt. Ruckelte aber trotzdem, weil damals eigentlich nichts schnell genug war.

Also echt, HyperCard, VideoWorks, Director, mTropolis, FutureSplash.

118 Kunden: 3M Deutschland, Arvato, Athlon Car Lease , Aufbruch, BEGA, BikeRepair, Bio Planete, BRABUS, Bundesanzeiger Verlag, Cab Beer, Canyon Bicycles, Cap Gemini, CGI Group, Citizenoffice, Clear/Herold Hilft, Corilon, D’art Design Group, Danone Waters, DCIX, Dehn, Demeter Felderzeugnisse, Der Spiegel, Deutsche Telekom, Deutsche Welle, Die Produktion, DNA Involvement Marketing, Droege Group, E.ON AG, Elektror Air Systems, Ergon Bike Ergonomics, Erik Zabel, ESPRIT, Essence, everve, expert automotive, FAW, Felten Personalservice, Fleet Factory, Good Energies, Harsco, HealthAdvisory, Heartbreaker, Heinz, Henkel, Hering Schuppener, Huennebeck, IHZ, Initiativkreis Ruhrgebiet, Interamt, Inwerk, Irina Kalentieva, Jango Bikes, Jazzunique, Karstadt, Katusha, KaVo, Krombacher, Kumpan Electric, KW43, Lufthansa Cargo, Lufthansa HR, Media Broadcast, Microsoft, Miltenyi Biotech, Mind Marks, Multipower, Nanna van Blaaderen, New Media NRW, Now Company, Nuvinci Cycling, Oase Living Water, Office Kitchen Casawell, Open Grid Europe, Pay-At-Match, phorm, punQtum, RieseSchubert, RKG, Römerturm, Roto Frank, RP Online, RTI Sports, RWE AG, Sander Gourmet, Schoepfung, Schwarzkopf got2b, Schweppes, Shirts on the Fly, Siemens Electrogeräte, smart beach tour, SNI, Sony Europe, Sport Spezial, Strenesse, T-Com, T-Online, T-Systems, TDK Europe, TeamworkCity Ruhrgebiet, TGI, Thyssenkrupp AG, Thyssenkrupp Schulte, Thyssenkrupp Services, Tino Pohlmann Fotografie, Topeak, Toshiba, Total, Total Recall, Traube Tonbach, Triumph International AG, Universität Duisburg/Essen, vamos, Vattenfall, vitrapoint, Vivento AG, Vodafone, volvic, WACOM

5 Adressen. Erste Station: unter dem Dach der frisch gegründeten REMPEN & PARTNER WERBEAGENTUR 1994 in der Breite Straße 13. Zweite Station 1996: selbes Gebäude, gegenüberliegende Seite – und andere Adresse (weil großes Gebäude): Kasernenstraße 14. Für ein bisschen mehr als ein Jahr 1997 in die Kavalleriestraße 16. Nur provisorisch, denn die Agenturgruppe wartet darauf, dass der Neue Zollhof im Düsseldorfer Hafen fertig wird. 1999 sind wir am soundsovielten Ersten die Ersten in der ersten Etage. Erste Sahne. 2003 trennen sich die Wege von R&P und wysiwyg*, und wir verlassen den Hafen wieder, nicht zuletzt weil er uns einfach zu teuer ist. Wir landen in der Stresemannstrasse 26, wo wir nach 16 Jahren und zwei Umbauten jetzt zwei Etagen bewohnen.

Einbrüche. Liebe Einbrecher: es lohnt sich nicht, es sei denn ihr braucht neue Videos von Euch. Die meisten Rechner sind schwer und groß, und die Laptops werden mitgenommen oder angekettet, und ihr macht eigentlich nur die Türen kaputt. Lasst das doch einfach in Zukunft, ja?

Danke.

9.600 Bit/s ist für Internet was C60 Kassetten für Musik waren. Ging so, hatten aber alle. Deshalb war das der Standard für Spiegel Online, den wysiwyg* die Ehre hatte 1995/96 aus der Taufe zu heben. Damit man sofort etwas sah war nach einem Kilobyte HTML der Bildschirm wenigstens schon mal kräftig orangerot. Ungefähr zehn Sekunden danach war die Seite – 10Kb – komplett. Die zeilenweise ladenden GiFs waren eigentlich viel aufregender als Flash zehn Jahre später.

 
 
 
 
Mit den zehn Megabyte von 2019 würde die „spon“ Homepage über unser 1995er Modem zwei Stunden und 50 Minuten brauchen. Wenn die Verbindung so lange gehalten hätte. (Hätte sie nicht.)

1 Dot-Com-Blase haben wir platzen sehen, damals noch aus nächster Nähe im schicken Gehry-Bau im Düsseldorfer Hafen. Etwas mulmig war das Gefühl zwar, aber da wysiwyg* nicht in zwei Jahren von 15 auf 250 Mitarbeiter aufgepumpt wurde, konnte da auch nicht soviel platzen. 2002 als einzige überlebende „Multimedia-Agentur“ im Hafen zu sitzen macht einem aber auch nicht alle Hausaufgaben, und es standen uns noch Trennung, Umzug und die Wandlung zur reinen Web-Agentur bevor.

Et hätt noch immer joot jejange, wie man in Köln sagt. Manchmal nur ganz knapp, wie man in Düsseldorf weiß.

mailto: xyz(a)wysiwyg.de

Echte Mailadressen können wir hier wegen der !@#%-Spambots nicht mehr benutzen. Bitte die Adresse kopieren und im Mailprogramm das (a) durch ein echtes @ ersetzen.

Tut uns leid